Versioning Documents and Files
Versioning allows you to make changes to a page without fear of accidentally overwriting someone else's changes. You can easily return to
a previous version if you do not like the changes that have been made.
Saving a New Version of a Page
When you are editing a page
, you can save the page as a new version by checking the "Save as new version" box. You can
also add a description of your change to help your project members quickly see what changes have been made.
Saving a New Version of a File
When you save a page as a new version, if you have selected a new file to replace an existing file, the
old file will be retained with the old version of the page. You can view the previous file by looking at the
page version that it was attached to. Be aware that each version of a file counts against your storage space.
Viewing Previous Versions and Comparing Page Versions
- In the page detail, the versions panel will be visible if the page has multiple versions
and you have permission to edit the page.
- You can view an old version of a page by clicking the version number. Only comments relevant to the a selected page version are shown.
- You can compare two versions by checking the checkbox
next to the versions you want to compare and clicking the [Compare] button.
- The versions being compared are shown at the top of the page.
- Click [I'm done comparing] to hide the comparison view.
- The key explains what has changed between two versions.
Red strike-through text indicates text
that has been removed from the older to the newer version. Text with a indicates text that have
been added from the older to the newer version. All other text are the same between the two versions.
Frequently Asked Questions