- Main Pages
- My Account
Team Members and Clients
You can invite people to your projects as either team members or clients. Controlling access to project information is accomplished using the two groupings. For example, you can specify that an item is viewable by both team members and clients or by team members only. Even if you do not have actual "clients" per se, you can still use the client grouping as an additional way to organize your team members for the purpose of restricting access to information.
Permission SettingsThe following table shows who can view items with the different permission settings:
|You||Assigned Person||Team Member||Client||Everyone|
If you assign an item (such as a milestone or task) to another user, the assigned user will be able to view the item no matter what the view permission for the item is. For example, clients will be able to view a team-viewable items assigned to them, users will be able to view private items assigned to them, etc.
Company and project administrators can view, edit, and delete all project items even if the items are view only.
Restricting Information Access to a Specific Person
Currently, restricting access to a specific person requires that the item be made into a task. This is because private items are viewable by the creator only, whereas private tasks can be viewed by both the task creator and the person assigned to the task. Using this feature, you can make an item private, make it a task, and then assign the task to another person so that the other person can view the item. You can assign the task to multiple people to allow access to more than one person besides yourself.